friday snacky-snack on a saturday!

Today was grocery shopping day in the land of the Loud family so that means we have Lemons!

I can now finally post my ‘friday snacky-snack’ today.

This recipe, Zest ‘n’ Poppy Cookies is from Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar Cookbook (you can purchase it from here

The only thing I did differently was that I didn’t have ‘Vanilla Powder’ so I subbed in Vanilla Extract – I used about 2 teaspoons worth.

Ingredients for Zest n Poppy Cookies

I used the Woolworths Macro Almond Meal which is made from whole almonds (which is why it has the brown colour, it’s the almond skins mixed through). I quite like it, but it also meant my mix was quite a bit darker than if you were to use a regular almond meal/flour.

Once everything is mixed together and you’ve blended it with your hands like Sarah advises, it looks like this (oh, and it smells quite delicious as all the oils are released).

photo (2)

Now I only had the Christmas cookie cutters to hand so I opted to use my scone cutter to get small cookie-like circles.

photo (3)

Here’s my finished version fresh out of the oven

photo (1)

My opinion? Well they smelt really nutty & lemon-y coming out of the oven, and with the first bite you can taste the lemon, but then it sort of disappears and is overtaken by the almond meal taste. Now, I quite like that, so it’s not a bad thing. BUT if I make these again (and I think I most likely will), I would double the amount of lemon zest and see if that helps wit the flavour.

All in all, I like them, Mr Loud likes them (Little Loud has yet to try!) & I think these would go down nicely with a lovely cuppa – which is exactly what I’m going to do right now!

Let me know your thoughts

