you don’t inspire me

As you know, I’ve been lacking in the motivation department when it comes to exercising. That’s not unusual for me, for some reason I’ve just never loved the thought of exercising. I know that once I start though, I generally quite enjoy it – especially at the gym when it’s just me, the tunes and my thoughts and I have my own little world for 45mins or so.

The last time I did go to the gym, I started thinking that perhaps I should consider getting myself a personal trainer (PT) for a period of time to help me get back into the swing of things. Looking around at the PTs at my gym, I found myself thinking ‘but they don’t look much fitter than me’.

I’m sure they all have had some form of training, well, I know they have had to in order to be working as a PT at my gym, but I was looking at their physiques, and thinking that none of them (both male & female) were anything special and what would they know that I didn’t already? Or that I couldn’t find on the interwebs myself?

Granted, some were better than others, but there wasn’t one trainer that I wanted to go up to and say, ‘help me look like you’. Now, there are plenty of other gym go-ers that DO have physiques that I would love to strive for, so why not the PTs?

I’m know I’m sounding really harsh, but this is not a cheap service to come by, I think the rate I was quoted by one of them (and they all differ) was around $60/45mins. To me, if I’m going to be paying them my hard earned cash, they should look like a fitness model and they should know how to train me to look like one too – they should be inspiring. Ideally, I want them to look & act like a Michelle Bridges!

What do you think? Do you have a PT? Do they inspire you? How did you choose them? Or are my expectations too high?

2 thoughts on “you don’t inspire me

  1. Love this post. I’ve never looked at it this way. I’m a PT part time and sure ain’t a Michelle Bridges (she’s my idle) I position myself as an average mum who lost 30kgs after pregnancy & ran a marathon when my second was 1. I actually did my course 5 years ago because I was constantly being harassed by PT’s at my gym. You’ve made me want to work even harder at my 7am session tomorrow 🙂 x

    • Now that’s inspiring! I would much rather train with someone who’s been through it all and had to work hard to get to where they are now. You sound like my kind of trainer! N x

Let me know your thoughts

