can’t I just hide under the doona?

Well things have been a little stressful (to say the least) in the land of the Louds of late.

There are some developments on the work front for Mr Loud, all of which I know will become very positive and fulfilling for Mr Loud, but until they come to fruition, it’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel so to speak.

I’m also experiencing changes at work. All positive for me too; but while it’s still all happening it’s leaving me feeling like I just want to curl up under the doona and not come out for a very long time.

Outwardly, I think I tend to deal with stressful situations rather well (if I do say so myself!). I’m not one to yell and scream and stomp my feet like a 2 year old; I tend to internalize my feelings and mull them over (yes, sometimes over a glass of vino or two) and then, if I feel something still needs to be said, I say it. There are also usually tears involved, I’m just highly emotional and it all comes bubbling out as tears (Mr Loud always knows when something is not quite right once the tears start flowing, luckily he’s used to it now and I feel so very lucky that he just lets me be myself in this regard).

stressed woman

Anyway, as I said, on the outside I look like all is OK. The inside, I feel like a wreck! I’m one of those people that have IBS, a nice catch-all name that the doctor tells me can be diet related or environment related. This can mean that when I’m feeling stressed my tummy reacts to it and I’m left in pain and feeling sorry for myself whilst also finding that I’m tending to stress over how my body is reacting!

The issue is what do you do to combat the way your body reacts to stress? Yes, monitoring diet and getting some exercise definitely help, but not 100% of the time. Until the stressor is removed from my life I really have no sure-fire way of helping my body deal with it.

What do you do? How does your body react to stress; and does that cause you to stress further?

Let me know your thoughts

