it’s a Good Friday for a snack

Yes, it may be Good Friday, but it’s still Friday and that means snacky-snack time!

As I’m at home today enjoying a relaxing extra long weekend, I thought I’d do something a little different, so I went with Parmesan Crisps. Here’s a few that lasted long enough to make it into a photo.

Parmesan Crisps

To be honest, I can’t remember where I stumbled across this recipe originally, but here’s how I make it in any case:

Freshly grated Parmesan cheese (I do enough to end up with about 1 to 1 1/2 cups of grated cheese)
Plain flour (about 1 tbsp)
Black Pepper – a few grinds (to taste)
Cayenne Pepper – a light shake

Mix all together in a bowl til combined.

Pop the stove top on and using a non-stick fry pan, place heaped spoonfuls of the mixture in the pan. Don’t worry if you have little mounds, they tend to spread and flatten out (and it makes the middle a little chewy which is quite nice).

When the edges start to turn golden, use a turner to flip over – they should be golden brown.

Once the other side is done, remove from pan and let cool – if you can wait that long!

Note – my fry pan is a good non-stick pan, if you don’t have one, or it’s not the best, a light spray of olive oil might help if your crisps are getting stuck.

I like them while they are still warm, but they are just as yummy when cooled. Mr Loud likes these too, he helped me polish off the plate! They tend to satisfy that craving for something salty; which I was probably craving because we were watching movies and that tends to make me dream of popcorn slathered in butter and salt!

I’m sure they would keep well in an airtight container, but to be honest, they never last that long around here. You could also switch up your seasonings, leave out the Cayenne or swap it for something else. Hope you enjoy them, they really are a simple snack.

Let me know your thoughts

