an unusual snacky-snack

Today’s snacky-snack is from Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar e-cookbook. This one is a little unusual to me, and admittedly, I didn’t think it’d taste that good.

It’s Salted Caramel Haloumi & Apple

It looks good, well I thought it did….

Salted Caramel Haloumi & Apple

Salted Caramel Haloumi & Apple

The taste? I liked it. Mr Loud seemed to enjoy it too. It’s a bit sweet and a bit salty, but often times these two flavours go well together. I was a little heavy-handed with the cinnamon; in my opinion you can’t have too much cinnamon when you are talking apples!

The recipe is simple:
1 green apple, cored, and sliced into 5mm wedges (my apple was on the smaller side)
6 slices haloumi cheese (cut 5mm thick – I didn’t use quite that much as my apple was small)
sprinkle of cinnamon (optional)
salt (I didn’t add extra salt as I knew the haloumi I had was quite salty already)

Place the haloumi and apple slices in a hot non-stick pan. Jiggle around the pan a little so the haloumi oil spreads and coats the apple. Cook both sides (until both apple and haloumi are a lovely caramel colour). Toss cinnamon and salt over the lot and serve.

I might’ve been a bit slow to realise that my haloumi was cooking very fast so some of mine was a little over-cooked, but it all tastes the same to me.

This snack is one that is best done at home obviously, due to needing to cook it. I did consider pre-cooking it and taking it to work to eat cold. I’m just not sure how nice it would taste. Worth a shot I guess!

4 thoughts on “an unusual snacky-snack

  1. Good on you for attempting Sarah Wilson’s I quit sugar…I’m not game enough. 3 days into my challenge & 2kgs down 🙂 how are you going?

    • It’s actually not that bad! I haven’t completely cut ALL sugar out, but we’ve significantly reduced our sugar intake, and I am feeling better for it. Plus, her recipes are yummy so you don’t even notice! Great work for 2kgs down already! I’m not doing so good… not a great week, but not going to beat myself up about it, I’ll get back on track soon enough.

      • Oh good for you. Gosh I couldn’t cut out sugar if I tried. Ran 12ks yesterday & undid it today but eating way too much…oh well…it’s Mother’s Day tomorrow, we deserve a little indulgence 🙂

      • Wow, 12kms, I’m jealous! Give me another week, once I get back into a routine and I hope to be back on the fit & healthy path. Today though, writing it off, champagne before 11am, and too many cakes at high tea for Mother’s Day! Have a great day too!

Let me know your thoughts

