almost as good as a hug from mum!

I think I mentioned last week that I hadn’t been feeling the best.

Well, I’m still not! After putting up with it for the last 2 weeks now, I finally gave in and went to the doctor. It seems I may have a sinus infection. Fingers crossed that it is that and after a course of antibiotics I’ll be feeling much better.

Anyway, prior to seeing the doctor this week, I was having Hot Toddy’s thinking I was fighting a head cold. This is my go-to home remedy drink for when I have a head cold, or just feeling under the weather. My Mum used to make them for my brothers and I as kids, and they still taste just as good to me today; to me they are almost as good as getting a warm hug from Mum herself!

Cut Lemon

I know it’s not a ‘snack’ as such, but I’m posting it up in any case. It’s really quite simple:

Hot Toddy
Juice from 1/2 a lemon (I always use a fresh lemon, nothing beats fresh – especially if it’s off Mum’s tree!)
1 tsp sugar (I’ve never substitued this for stevia, but I’m sure you could give it a go)
Good squeeze of honey (or about 1 tbsp)
Boiling water
And for the adults only, a nip of Rum (I use Bundaberg Rum – my ‘nip’ is a capful from a large size bottle)

Mix all ingredients in a cup/glass and stir until the honey & sugar is melted. When cool enough to drink (if you’re impatient like me, add a splash of cool water) taste, then adjust with more sugar/honey if necessary. You want it to be tart, but not too sweet. You should be able to taste the lemon.

I find this helps runny noses and coughs, and if you have it just before bed makes breathing much easier as you are trying to fall asleep!

I’ve also made this for Little Loud, without the rum of course, and she loved it.

Do you have a home remedy for when you aren’t feeling well? I’d love to know what you do…

One thought on “almost as good as a hug from mum!

  1. Pingback: not another manic monday | Out Loud

Let me know your thoughts

