green doritos

green doritos. Sounds a little less than appetising right? Never fear, these are my healthy version; my ‘Kale Chips‘.

Yup… unless you’ve been hiding under a rock somewhere, then you probably already know what I’m talking about. I hope you’ve already tried it too, but if not, here’s my take on them. These are of course SO much better for you than any store bought chips, in fact, I think they are better!

Grab yourself a bunch of kale. It’s the stuff that looks a little like Silverbeet, except the leaves are curly.
Then, rinse them and pat dry. Now, rip the green leaf away from the white stem (that runs down the middle). This is tough and not the best tasting. Don’t worry about the veins that run out onto the leaves, these small ones are fine.

kale

Now you want to rip those big chunks of green leaf into smaller pieces. These are giong to form your ‘chips’. Don’t make them too itty bitty as they will shrink a bit during the cooking process.

Lay them flat on a tray covered with baking paper. Spray them with a light coating of oil (coconut, olive, your choice really). Then pop them in the oven. I do this in my oven on about 150deg C with the fan on. But don’t go wandering around and forget about them. They burn, and quickly! You need to keep an eye on them. When they are starting to look a little darker in colour, pull them out and flip them over. At this point, I spray the other side with more oil if needed and I also sprinkle over some freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Whack them back in, and watch closely again. You want them to go crispy, but not burn. Oh and just a word of warning, too much oil and they will be soggy. I don’t always end up with a batch the is completely crispy, but 90% of them are good and you’ll get one or two that might be a little ‘chewy’ as opposed to ‘crispy’, but they still taste good.

When they look done, let them cool a little then enjoy! Little Loud calls these ‘green chips’ and loves them. One bunch is usually devoured in the Loud household fairly quickly (as in, in one sitting!), and that’s something I don’t mind because I know it’s super healthy.

So apart from these Kale chips being super yummy and easy to make, why should you eat them? Well, here’s a couple of reasons – Kale is rich in vitamins A, C and K and folic acid, as well as calcium, potassium, copper and iron. These nutrients are necessary for healthy bones, skin and eyes.

Enjoy! N x

PS – An apology – I didn’t get the chance to post a snack last week, so I’ll see if I can find a second one for you this weekend to make it up to you!

Let me know your thoughts

