not another manic monday

It’s just another manic Monday right? Wrong! Today I was all about thinking positive, it was my ‘motivated Monday’.

You see, I have a confession to make; I’ve not been to the gym in FOREVER! I’m talking about well over 6 weeks, if not longer. I may’ve had one or two sneaky sessions about 6 weeks ago, but it’s been that long I really don’t remember. That’s not to say I haven’t done some sort of exercise, I did manage the Colour Run, but I’ve not been to the gym.

There have been various reasons, some of which were Mr Loud moving interstate, me adjusting to looking after Little Loud on my own, getting sick, not feeling well and generally just being plain lazy not getting off my ass.

Not only did that make me feel terrible because I WANTED to go and just haven’t been motivated, it’s also been a huge waste of money. Not to mention I’m at one of those gyms that snagged me into a membership that requires me to sign over my unborn children if I want to cancel the membership… so needless to say I’m still a fully fledged paying member who just doesn’t go.

Until now!

20130617-204253.jpg

Today I went back! I packed my gym bag last night before I went to bed and I left it by the front door so I wouldn’t forget to take it with me on my way to work (it’s hot pink – a little hard to miss even if I tried).

Then, all day at work, I was thinking positive thoughts about going. I still didn’t feel like going, I even got a headache and was ready to not go, but I decided to make a promise to myself that I’d go, just for 20 minutes. Not long, I could leave if I did really not want to be there. But you know what? I didn’t. I stayed… I did my workout – a weights session, which is my favourite thing to do (I get bored doing cardio and would rather lift heavy things so I feel strong – and feel sore the next day!) and loved it.

Yeah, I felt a little funny going; felt like people were laughing at me behind my back saying things like ‘she hasn’t been here for a while’ or ‘she needs to come more often’ but of course, I’m sure they weren’t. No one else cares about me and what I’m doing. Most people are too worried about themselves.

So here’s to re-kindling my love of the gym and working out! I know I love how I feel once I’ve been, and I love waking up to sore muscles the next day (proving to myself that I did something). But most of all, I love having something that is just for me and all about me. Selfish? Maybe, but we all need something that is just for us and no one else. The bonus for me is I’ll tone up (goodbye saddle bags and tuckshop lady arms) and hopefully lose a few kilos in the process, oh, and I
won’t be paying the gym money for nothing!

Now, if only I could find the way to get out of bed early and go before work…

Let me know your thoughts

