becoming a morning person

This morning I did something I’ve not done in years; I got up while it was still dark and met some friends at the gym. Shock, horror right?! I’m not a morning person. Never have been, never will be, but do you know what?

I feel great! Albeit I can’t stop yawning now, but I know that’s because I need to recondition my body clock so that I go to bed earlier the night before, but that will come with time.

I’m helping curb the yawns with a bit of a snack. I’ve mentioned it before, my cottage cheese, cinnamon & apple, but here’s a pic of today’s ensemble. I really do love this snack, as it’s so easy and tasty.

Cottage Cheese, Cinnamon + Apple

Anyway, back to this morning. I woke up at 5.30am. I know that’s actually not that early for some people, but for me it is. I usually sleep to the last minute possible (and often past that!) and get ready for work in a mad rush (which, mind you, I do happen to have down to a fine art form). Today though, I was up, and out the door heading to the gym within 15 minutes.

I met my friends at the gym (one actually came via my house – which was a huge motivation to make sure I was ready in time) and we did our workouts. Then, we all got ready for work at the gym and headed off to work to eat breakfast at our desks. I even got to work earlier because I had made sure everything was ready the night before. Amazing what you can achieve with a bit of planning right?

I’ve been wanting to go to the gym in the mornings again for some time now, but as it’s been Winter here, it’s been too dark and too cold, plus I’ve not had a reason to make sure I would actually go, so would simply hit snooze. Repeatedly. Having to meet friends, and be relied upon to turn up, that makes a difference. Not to mention how much grief they would give me if I didn’t show up as promised!

We didn’t all work out together, we’ve all got different goals and training programs, but just to know we had to meet each other made sure we all got our daily dose of exercise in, while most people were still sleeping!

We’ve already committed to going a minimum of 3 mornings a week. Not Mondays though; I don’t do Mondays.

So watch this space! It can only get easier as we slide into Spring here, and with the lure of warm days ahead with short shorts and singlet tops, it’s almost all the motivation a girl needs to get up when it’s dark and work out! I may not be a morning person, but I like to think I’m becoming one.

N x

Let me know your thoughts

