power through your friday!

OK, I confess, I was too busy doing the housework last night to make these, but I plan on making them this weekend! I even made sure I purchased the fresh Medjool dates when I did my grocery shopping this week (hint: Aussie Aldi stores sell little ‘snack packs’ of Medjool dates which are super handy).

These are protein power balls. I saw this photo on my Facebook feed the other week and was drooling. I mean, how good do they look?!

Protein Power Balls from The Healthy Chef

Protein Power Balls from The Healthy Chef

These little babies combine a few of my favourite flavours so I’m sure I won’t be disappointed. I LOVE cinnamon and almonds, and although I won’t normally eat a date by itself, I often devour anything that has date in it. So I feel like I’m onto a winner here.

My little food processor isn’t the best, it’s just a cheap-o one but it does the job; so as to make life easier though, I think I’ll use almond meal so my processor doesn’t struggle to combine them. I’ll also help things along by chopping up my dates (don’t forget to remove the pips!) first too.

I’m sure I’ll have to find a way to stop myself from eating more than one at a time… perhaps freezing them individually will do the trick. That way, I can grab one in the morning on my way out the door to work and it should be nicely defrosted by the time I’m craving something sweet come morning or afternoon tea time. They would probably also be super handy to have in the gym bag for a pre-workout snack. Oh yes, I think I’m onto something here!

Let me know if you give these a try and what, if any, variations you make… the idea of rolling them in some freshly grated 85% dark chocolate sounds like a wonderful after dinner indulgence to me!

Happy Friday

N x

5 thoughts on “power through your friday!

  1. Pingback: wordless wednesday | protein power balls | Out Loud

  2. Pingback: friday fail snacky-snack | Out Loud

  3. Pingback: a healthier Ginger Snap! | Out Loud

Let me know your thoughts

