green egg frittata

ok so this is more than a snack, at least it is for me. This is more of a lunch or light dinner. It’s my green egg frittata.

This is one of those meals I throw together with whatever I have on hand. Today it was as follows

2 eggs (I would use 3 for Mr Loud, sometimes 4, and 1 for Little Loud)
1 cup spinach, chopped
1/2 cup button mushrooms, sliced
Cheese of your choice
Cracked black pepper
Splash of milk or cream if desired

20130809-195337.jpg

Lightly whisk your eggs and cracked pepper.

Put a frypan on to heat with a knob of butter and let it melt.

Slice your mushrooms and spinach, or whatever you are going to add.

20130809-195444.jpg

In the past I’ve used frozen spinach that I’ve defrosted and drained, some ham or bacon, grated zucchini, broccoli anything that I want to use up out of the fridge.

Pour the eggs into the heated pan. Place your mushrooms and spinach on top. I lightly press or mix the topping into the egg mixture before it cooks.

20130809-195627.jpg

Sprinkle on your cheese, I’ve used under 1/4 cup here.

20130809-195832.jpg

Now, here you could fold it in half and treat it as an omelette if that’s what you want. I prefer to pop it under the grill to brown the cheese on top, and this is where it becomes more like a frittata.

Depending on how hungry patient you are, you can leave it in just till the egg is cooked or you could do as I do and let it go golden brown and hope for some crispy bits!

20130809-195730.jpg

I like to drizzle over some flaxseed oil once it’s cooled a little. For those that don’t like the taste of flax, this is a good way to try it. The cheese is usually strong enough to mask the flavour.

20130809-200055.jpg

We have these for dinner sometimes here in the Loud house, simply because its yummy, healthy and easy to whip a few up after a long day at the office.

Enjoy!

N x

PS excuse any errors in this post, I’m trying out posting with the app on my iPad for the first time! Also excuse the photo quality, I took them at night while I was cooking this for my dinner!

20130809-200214.jpghappy eggs!

Let me know your thoughts

