the big cake bake

You’ll recall one of my recent Wordless Wednesday photos was of the pack I received from Red Cross Australia for registering my participation in The Big Cake Bake.

The official date is Monday 26th august, however participants can host their even at any time during the month of August. So today was my day, but really, any day is a great day to eat cake right? This is not an everyday snack, but it’s for a good cause so I figured it was worthy of this weeks Friday Snacky-Snack.

I went with this One Bowl Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Ganache from The Healthy Chef. I wanted to be a little bit good and not completely naughty! The result? It was soooo good! Very rich and decadent. I only added 3 tablespoons of honey rather than 4, and it was perfect for me. If you aren’t a fan of dark chocolate, you could try regular dark chocolate rather than the 85% in the ganache, which would make it sweeter. As it is, it’s a very good attempt at a sugar free chocolate cake in my opinion.

Chocolate Cake

Easy + Healthier = Yum!

I served it up to my colleagues, while asking for a donation to Red Cross in return, and by all accounts it was yum. I gave them the option of heating it up slightly and having a scoop of icecream on the side (for those who are happy to eat their sugar!) and I’m told it tasted just like a fudgy brownie. Those that asked for the recipe afterwards were surprised to hear how much healthier it was than a regular chocolate cake – I was even asked if I’d used a packet mix! Shock horror!

My recommendation? Give it a whirl. Yes, it’s a little more expensive because of the almond meal, but I found mine at Aldi, plus some health food stores sell big bags of the stuff much cheaper than the supermarket; or, you could even make your own from whole almonds if you have a good blender/food processor. I also used Dutch Cocoa, which is the same as cacao, just make sure it’s 100% cocoa and nothing else on the ingredients list (sometimes they sneak in sugars), and again, health food stores sell large bags of it which can work out much more economical.

If you try it, let me know what you think and what, if any, alterations you make to the recipe.

N x

Let me know your thoughts

