feeling blue for macaroons

I’ve been having a ‘woe is me’ kind of week.

I managed to put my back out on Monday evening quite spectacularly. I don’t do things by halves you see! So much so, that I couldn’t stand up straight, or walk straight on Tuesday or Wednesday.

After many visits to various allied health professionals (chiropractor, massage therapist, osteopath) I finally conceded defeat and had to go to the GP for some pain relief yesterday. The GP had me see their onsite physio today, and I’m finally starting to feel better. Now, that could just be because I’m in the haze of the super drugs but either way, I feel like I’m finally starting to get movement back.

Anyway, I’ve been home from work the past couple of days, and feeling sorry for myself. I would normally turn to chocolate, and to be honest I did, Maltesers may’ve been eaten on Wednesday night. Today I wanted chocolate again but I wanted to try and be ‘clean’ and stumbled across these.

Blueberry Macaroons! Yummo! I had fresh blueberries in the fridge I needed to use up so these were perfect (I also have frozen raspberries, so might try those out next). This was seriously SO EASY to make. I’m not rich lucky enough to own a Thermomix, so I threw everything into my blender. I’m sure a food processor would work just as well, or in a pinch, a stick blender to mush your berries up and just fold the rest in by hand.

This is what it looked like with just the blueberries, honey, vanilla extract and coconut oil after a few pulses in the blender.

Blueblender

Then I dumped in the coconut and blitzed it, but ended up mixing it by hand.

BlueMixed

Then I realised I could up the healthiness factor with some chia seeds. So I mixed some of those through too.

BlueChia

I popped them in the fridge and after about 20mins they were set. They taste like a coconut blueberry truffle to me. You could possibly swap the honey for pure maple syrup or even rice malt syrup if you wanted to be sugar free (not allowing for the blueberries themselves of course). I’ve managed to devour about 4 out of the 15 I made – whoops! I had to put them back in the fridge to stop myself!

BlueMacaroons

I hope you enjoy them, and if you make any alterations, be sure to let me know how it works out!

N x

Let me know your thoughts

