a not so green smoothie

I’m sure you are thinking, “not another person on the green smoothie bandwagon” right about now, but stick with me!

I’ve always loved a good smoothie or milkshake, especially when I was a kid. I loved getting a chocolate malted thick shake! Then I became dairy intolerant and I could no longer have them.

Well here’s one without dairy, but is just as thick that you won’t feel like you are missing out – its a meal in a cup!

Now, basically there are no rules when it comes to green smoothies as to what you can put in. Mine had the following:

A large handful of baby spinach
One large stalk of celery, chopped
One green apple, core removed & diced
About 1/2 cup cucumber, diced
A few sprigs of fresh mint
Lemon juice (mine was juice that had been frozen into ice cube trays from my mum’s lemon tree!)
About 4 large strawberries
2 tablespoons of protein powder (I used Vital Protein vanilla flavoured)
A sprinkle of cinnamon

20130926-211121.jpg

I put my green ingredients in the blender first with a splash of water to get things moving.

It was an awesome bright green once it was all blended together.

20130926-211217.jpg

Then after tasting it, I wanted it a little sweeter so I decided to add the strawberries.

20130926-211321.jpg

Then it went from the bright fresh green, to well, this colour ….

20130926-211414.jpg

I know what I call that colour, but let me assure you, it didn’t taste like it! You can really add what you want, and adding some extra fruit as you are starting out helps with the flavour. I’m still new to them which is why I added the strawberries, but you could add whatever you wanted.

Let me know what flavour combinations you like, I’m willing to give almost anything a go!

Let me know your thoughts

