a cool coffee shake

For those of you not living in the Southern Hemisphere, you might want to save this for later. For those of you that are sweating it out but still craving your caffeine hit, perhaps give this a whirl.

Coffee Shake – Paleo Friendly
1 cup (about 1/2 can) of Coconut Cream (pop the other half in the fridge for tomorrow)
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract (or to taste)
approx. 50ml cooled coffee
1-3 Medjool Dates (or to taste) **
Ice cubes

a handful of ingredients

Make up your coffee, I used instant for this one, and just let it cool. You could use an espresso shot like Nespresso if you wanted. Sadly I’d run out of my Nespresso pods. I know. I couldn’t believe it either, but that’s how this lovely shake came along; out of wanting something a little indulgent. Basically any type of coffee will do if you normally like the taste.

While that is cooling down, de-seed your dates (if using) and pop into a blender.

Add your coconut cream (I kept mine chilled as I’d given this a test run the day before so it was all lovely and thick), vanilla extract and a handful of ice cubes and blend.

Add in your cooled coffee/espresso and blend again (don’t worry if it’s not completely cool, I didn’t, the ice cubes do the job well enough).

Taste it, if it’s not sweet enough, add another date. For me 2 dates is plenty sweet enough, and depending on the size of the dates you could easily use one or even just half a one.

Pour into a tall glass and enjoy, it really is that simple!

Iced_Coffee_2

The coconut cream makes it go all lovely and frothy and it’s a lovely refreshing way to have your coffee while it’s stinking hot outside. Seriously, what’s with this weather?!

frothy caffeine goodness!

frothy caffeine goodness!

**Some notes – Now, before you start complaining, no, it’s not sugar-free, but it’s NATURAL sugar and it’s from the dates. You can leave them out if you really don’t want any types of sugar. You could also sub in coconut milk for a thinner consistency, but I liked that the cream gave it more of a milkshake taste/texture. As for the coffee, some who follow Paleo don’t drink coffee, but some do, so it’s up to you & where you are at.

I’m sure you could add in other flavours to create your own milkshake-type concoctions, if you do, let me know what works.

Enjoy!

N x

2 thoughts on “a cool coffee shake

    • I see you do! I’ll have to try some of the cafes you recommend for iced coffee in your post next time we do a road trip through Geelong!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Let me know your thoughts

